A Lascivious Tray

For my housewarming you arrive with a cooler on whose ice a bottle of Moet and Chandon Brut Imperial champagne waits, and a power drill to hang my curtains.

While you hang, I toss organic baby spinach, fat green leaves, sliced large white button mushrooms, raw and thick, thin wheels of hot red onion, peeled sliced sweet mango, a handful of ground walnuts, slivered almonds, flax and sunflower seeds in a raspberry vinaigrette.

On the sectioned tray I lay ripe strawberries sweet as jam, green grapes, sinful fresh figs.

From its wooden case, I lift fresh smoked wild Sockeye salmon and lay it down.

Large green olives stuffed with garlic nestle beside the focaccia embedded with olive slices, sun-dried tomatoes, chopped onion and herbs.

Around balls of sweet honey dew melon I wrap ribbons of proscuito.

Peeling the papers from the cheeses, I uncover Isigny Sainte Mère, a creamy Normandy Camembert, Pont-l’Evêque, a soft cheese, pungent white Cheddar, tangerine-coloured rich Mimolette, and from sweet sheep’s milk a soft Italian Percorino Toscan Fresco.

It is a steamy June day.

We take each other’s clothes off in the enrapt way way lovers do. We feed each other with our mouths, teeth, fingers. We hold strawberries between both our lips and bite them.

We sip long crystal flutes and drizzle champagne into each other.

I’m sure I lap-dance, it’s becoming a blur. Leonard Cohen’s woman, that beautiful Anjani, sings soft, sultry songs of his poems.

Lust breathes us.

Later, drunk, I dance in the living room, a naked middle-aged woman.

The curtains are drawn tight.

This morning I videod my exercising, dancing, and then layered so many filters on the footage Final Cut Express says it’ll take 4 days to render a 12 minute section! I’m currently trying to circumnavigate that by saving to QuickTime, but that’s a 20 hour process! Oy ya. These stills may be all that there is to show of my afternoon’s work. Let’s just say, three years later, not naked.

It was a memorable night, perhaps our best, but our last. I’ve kept the empty bottle of champagne on my shelf since then, knowing I had to write about it. In the Winter I received a letter from his other lover and then we discovered each other, though I had ended my relationship with him not long after the evening I write of here. This is a section from a much longer prosepoem that will, I hope end a manuscript.
__
This prosepoem piece was written for Big Tent Poetry’s May 28th poetry prompt: aphrodisiac.

Home Different, yet Same Recent Work Videopoetry Celestial Dancers Photopoems Birthdance Bliss Queen Bio Life Drawings Earth Rising Creative Process Soirée Links Comments

About Brenda Clews

poet, painter, videopoet, editor website: https://brendaclews.com videopoems: https://goo.gl/zdpZ5
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Lascivious Tray

  1. derrick2 says:

    Glad you managed to get the curtains hung first! A tray of delights indeed!

    • brendaclews says:

      Thanks, Derrick… it’s not a poem, and is written in prose sentences, yet is not prose either since it has no plot line, suspense, crisis, character development, thus it is prosepoetry, about a state of being.

      A tray of delights. 🙂

  2. Paul Oakley says:

    Lust breathes us.

    Yes.

    Beautiful depiction of a paradisaical picnic. Such a cornucopia of flavors – tidbits of taste and titilation. Enjoyed this!

  3. Deb says:

    What a glorious event. I can see why it would have taken three years to set it down. Why the corks were saved.

    The meal is luscious, the love steamy. The art is beautiful — I like the way it’s framed/ rendered. Wow. “The curtains are drawn tight.” means a lot more now that I’ve read the notes. But I’m not sure I would change the ending. 🙂

    • brendaclews says:

      Thanks, Deb… appreciate your comments. Subsequent events changed the evening, of course they did, so I wrote it without the stars in my eyes that I had originally intended and think it makes for a stronger prosepoem. Strangely, that is.

      Who knows why I set up the camera yesterday when I decided, while work is slow, to dance every morning for exercise and for release. Baggy house shorts and no bangles or make-up, and my over-full apartment. But the filters! I discovered a “line art” one that turns an entire film clip into a black and white line drawing – with so many books of course it took many hours to render. Many layers of filters later, a solarization, this & that, a box in the centre with truer life colours, perhaps some footage for a new videopoem but it’ll take 42 hours to render before I can actually edit it down to a shorter length! The stills are from that video. Thanks for your comment on them – as dance motif they sort of fit backward to the night I wrote of, same space I guess… ::grins::

  4. Tumblewords says:

    First and last nights are perfect bookends for the mundane middles that sometimes grace the trays. Nice work!

  5. You had me at the curtain hanging!

Leave a comment